Heard Any Good Books Lately?

Posted: October 20, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Roses are red, violets are blue.  I have ADD and so….hey look…a squirrel!

If you know me at all you’ll know that the above statement isn’t that far off the truth for my ability, at times, to focus on just one thing!  I love to read and learn, but often get side-tracked when reading because I start drifting away from the pages of a good book because…well…there’s other things going on around me!  I’m the kind of guy that needs a good, quiet place to read so I can put my whole focus on the book in front of me. 

That’s why I’m thankful for those people with he deep Charlton Heston voice that read books out loud into a microphone so I can listen, instead of reading.  I think there’s definitely benefits to cracking open a book and inhaling the addictive smell of printed pages…but I can concentrate waaaaay better using my ears, than just my eyes…at least with a book!  Plus sometimes it can be hard to find the time to sit and read…but we all have disposable time white sitting in the car, taking a walk…or at your work desk.

So you may be thinking…”hey Shawn, welcome to the 21st century…audio books have been around since before New Kids on the Block!”  Okay…you got me there…but have you heard about Audible.com?  I stumbled upon this site a while back and figured I’d share the wealth!  You can download books, magazines, radio shows, podcasts and other media resources…but it’s also a cool shareware site where you can rate books, and ‘follow’ your friends (like on Twitter), and what they think about what their reading. 

So if you struggle like I do with focusing in on the old black and white pages of a book…maybe all you need is the smooth talking voice of someone to do the reading for you..and the option of tracking online comments and reviews!

Leave a Reply

